Independent · Not a clinic · No paid rankings Prices verified September 2026
MedTravel Colombia An independent guide to medical & dental care in Colombia

Dental · Cost guide

Dental implants in Colombia: what they cost in 2026, and how the two trips work

Clinic-published prices run $1,000–1,550 per implant with crown — against $2,143 in the US for the implant alone. Most patients need two trips, three to six months apart.

A dentist talking with a gray-haired patient seated in a dental chair, green hillside visible through the clinic window
A first consultation: the treatment plan, implant brand and every phase should be priced in writing before anything is placed.Illustrative photograph

Disclosure: MedTravel Colombia may be compensated by clinics or travel partners when readers inquire or book through this site. Compensation never changes our prices, verification rules or what we say about a clinic.

Dental implants in Colombia often cost less than half of what Americans pay at home, and the quality ceiling is high: the clinics that market to US patients use the same implant systems and zirconia materials sold in the United States. What moves the price is not the city — it is the implant brand, the crown material, whether you need bone grafting, and how honestly the clinic prices each phase up front.

This guide lays out what clinics in Medellín, Bogotá, Cali and Cartagena publish on their own sites, what those numbers do and don’t include, how the two-trip schedule works, and the checks that separate a licensed dentist from a storefront. Every price below links to the clinic page it came from.

01What do dental implants cost in Colombia?

For a single tooth — titanium implant, abutment and crown — clinic-published prices in 2026 run from about $1,000 to $1,550. Colombia Care Dental in Medellín publishes “from $1,200” including a BioHorizons implant and zirconia crown2; Dental Tourism Colombia prices the same tooth as $800 for the implant on trip one plus $750 for the crown and abutment on trip two3.

In the United States, the national average for the implant alone is $2,143, with the crown billed separately at $488–3,2541. That is the fair comparison: the Colombian figure already includes the crown, the US one doesn’t.

Dental implants, Colombia: cost at a glance

Price per tooth
$1,000–1,550 implant + abutment + crown
US average
$2,143 implant only
Trips
Usually 2
Healing between trips
3–6 months
Days in Colombia
3–7 (trip 1) · 5–7 (trip 2)
Check before booking
ReTHUS licence · REPS clinic registration

So what do dental implants in Colombia cost once everything is added up? For one tooth with no grafting, plan on the clinic price plus two round-trip flights and roughly ten nights of lodging across both visits. The cost of dental implants in Colombia scales with the number of teeth, and so does the saving — which is why most US patients who make the trip are replacing several teeth or a full arch.

02What a dental implant quote should include

The single most useful thing you can do is ask for a written, itemized plan before you book flights. A complete quote names:

In the clinic’s price

  • The implant fixture — with the brand (BioHorizons, Straumann, Nobel Biocare, etc.)
  • The abutment (the connector)
  • The final crown and its material (zirconia or e.max)
  • CBCT scan and X-rays
  • A temporary tooth during healing, if you need one in a visible spot
  • Follow-up visits during each trip

Often extra — ask

  • Bone graft (Dental Tourism Colombia lists $350 per gram in Cartagena)
  • Sinus lift for upper back teeth ($1,500 one side, same list)
  • Extractions
  • Sedation
  • Airport transfers and hotel
  • Replacement parts if an implant fails to integrate

03Dental implant prices by clinic and city

These are the prices clinics publish themselves. They are starting points; the final price depends on your scan. We list clinics because they publish prices, not because we rank them — our rules for inclusion are on the how we verify page.

Dental implants cost: Colombia vs the US, clinic by clinic
ClinicCityPublished price (USD)What the price covers
Colombia Care Dental Medellín from $1,200 Implant + abutment + crown; BioHorizons implant, ZirCAD Prime zirconia crown
Dental Tourism Colombia Medellín $800 + $750 Titanium implant (trip 1) + porcelain crown & abutment (trip 2)
Dental Tourism Colombia Cali $720 + $665 Implant (trip 1) + crown & abutment (trip 2)
Dental Tourism Colombia Cartagena $850 + $650 Implant + porcelain crown & abutment ($710 zirconia)
Clínica Viena Medellín $1,000 Per implant, from the clinic’s cost calculator; inclusions not stated
Prevedonto Bogotá from $1,500 Per implant; brand and inclusions not stated
US national average (CareCredit) United States $2,143 implant only, crown excluded (CareCredit national average; crowns add $488–3,254)

Prices as published on each clinic’s own site, seen September 22, 2026. They are starting prices, not quotes — every clinic sets the final price after reviewing your records or a consultation. We re-check them twice a year.

Two patterns stand out. Clinics that split the price by trip (implant now, crown later) look cheaper per line but land in the same range once both phases are added. And clinics that don’t name the implant brand on their price page should name it in your written plan — if they won’t, that is your answer.

04What does full-mouth treatment cost?

If you are replacing most or all of your teeth, clinics quote per arch rather than per tooth. The common approach is All-on-4: four implants per jaw supporting a fixed bridge. Published Colombian prices run $6,900–13,250 per arch, driven mostly by the bridge material — acrylic is cheapest, porcelain and zirconia cost more and last longer7.

The cost of full mouth dental implants in Colombia therefore starts around $18,000 for both arches at Colombia Care Dental with acrylic bridges, against a US average of $15,176 for a single arch. Our All-on-4 guide breaks the price down by city and material.

$15,176US national average for All-on-4 — one arch (CareCredit)

If you are missing a handful of teeth rather than a whole arch, an implant-supported bridge (two implants carrying three or four crowns) is often cheaper than individual implants. Ask the dentist to price both options side by side.

05The two-trip timeline

A dental implant has to fuse with the jawbone — osseointegration — before it can carry a permanent crown. The Cleveland Clinic puts that at three to nine months4; Colombian clinics that treat US patients typically schedule the second visit about six months later.

  1. Before you flyRemote assessment. Send a recent panoramic X-ray or CBCT. Get the written, itemized plan and the implant brand. Check the dentist on ReTHUS.
  2. Trip 1 · 3–7 daysPlacement. Scan, extractions if needed, implant placement, a temporary tooth where it shows. One or two check-ups before you fly home.
  3. 3–6 monthsHealing at home. The bone grows around the implant. Soft diet for the first weeks; your home dentist can check on it.
  4. Trip 2 · 5–7 daysRestoration. Abutment, impressions, the final crown made in the clinic’s lab (Colombia Care Dental quotes 2–5 days), fitting and bite adjustment.
  5. HomeRecords. Take the implant brand, size and lot numbers, and all X-rays. Any US dentist will need them to service the implant.

If you need bone grafting first, add a healing period of about three months before the implant can be placed — sometimes a third trip.

A dental technician's hands holding a set of porcelain teeth above a lab bench
Many Medellín clinics run an in-house lab, which is what makes a five-day crown turnaround possible.Illustrative photograph

06Are you a candidate?

Usually good candidates

  • Healthy gums and enough jawbone (or willing to graft)
  • Non-smokers, or able to stop around surgery
  • Able to make two trips several months apart
  • Missing one tooth, several, or a full arch

Talk to your doctor first if you

  • Have uncontrolled diabetes
  • Take bisphosphonates or have had jaw radiation
  • Have active gum disease
  • Smoke heavily — it raises the failure rate

07How to verify a dentist before you book

Every dentist practicing in Colombia must be registered in ReTHUS, the national health-workforce registry run by the Ministry of Health6. The public lookup needs the dentist’s cédula (ID) number — ask the clinic for it; a legitimate clinic will give it to you. The clinic itself should appear in REPS, the national register of licensed health providers.

Our step-by-step verification guide walks through both lookups and what a valid record should show.

08Medellín, Bogotá, Cali or Cartagena?

Dental implants in Colombia, South America, are a nonstop flight from Miami, Fort Lauderdale, Orlando, Houston and New York to Medellín, and from a dozen US cities to Bogotá. Within the country, the choice of city matters less than the clinic.

Dental implants in Medellín, Colombia have the deepest bench of clinics pricing for US patients, direct flights from Miami, Fort Lauderdale, Orlando, Houston and New York, and a spring-like climate for recovery — see our list of English-speaking dentists in Medellín.

Dental implants in Bogotá, Colombia are a strong option if you want an academic-hospital setting; published prices start a little higher (Prevedonto: from $1,500). Bogotá sits at about 2,640 m, which some visitors feel for the first day or two.

Cali, Colombia dental implants show some of the lowest published prices ($720 + $665 at Dental Tourism Colombia’s Cali office), and Cartagena suits patients who want to combine treatment with the coast.

09Risks, and what recourse you have

Implants fail in a minority of cases — most often because the bone doesn’t integrate, infection, or smoking. That risk exists anywhere; what changes abroad is the follow-up. The CDC’s guidance for medical travelers is blunt: patients treated abroad may not have the same legal recourse they would at home, and they should bring back complete records5.

Before paying, ask the clinic three questions in writing: what happens if the implant fails to integrate (is replacement included?), which implant system it uses (can a US dentist source parts?), and who you contact once home. Clear written answers are a better predictor of a good experience than any review count.

Your next step

Before you request a single quote, check that the dentist is licensed. It takes five minutes and filters out most of the risk.

How to verify a dentist in Colombia

Common questions

How much are dental implants in Colombia?
Clinic-published prices for one implant with its abutment and crown run from about $1,000 to $1,550 in 2026 — for example from $1,200 at Colombia Care Dental in Medellín and $1,385 at Dental Tourism Colombia. The US national average is $2,143 for the implant alone, before the crown.
What is the cost of full mouth dental implants in Colombia?
Full-mouth treatment is usually quoted per arch. All-on-4 runs $6,900–13,250 per arch depending on city and bridge material, so both arches start around $18,000 at Colombia Care Dental (acrylic). Porcelain or zirconia bridges cost more than acrylic.
How many trips do I need for dental implants in Colombia?
Usually two. Trip one places the implant (about 3–7 days); the bone then needs roughly 3–6 months to heal around it; trip two fits the final crown or bridge (about 5–7 days). Clinics that promise everything in one short visit are either placing temporary teeth or skipping the healing phase — ask which.
Which implant brands do Colombian dentists use?
It varies by clinic, so ask for the brand in writing. Colombia Care Dental states it uses BioHorizons implants with ZirCAD Prime zirconia crowns. Clinics often price different implant systems differently, so get the brand and its price together. The brand also affects long-term parts availability back home.
Are dental implants in Medellín cheaper than in Bogotá?
Published prices overlap. Medellín clinics publish $1,000–1,550 per implant with crown; Prevedonto in Bogotá publishes from $1,500. City matters less than the implant brand, crown material and whether bone grafting is needed.
How much do dental implants cost in Colombia if I need a bone graft?
Add the graft to the implant price. Dental Tourism Colombia publishes bone graft at $350 per gram and a sinus lift at $1,500 for one side in Cartagena. A graft also adds roughly three months of healing before the implant can be placed.
How much does dental implants cost in Colombia for several teeth?
Multiply the per-tooth price, then ask whether a bridge on two implants would do the same job for less. For most or all of an arch, All-on-4 at $6,900–13,250 per arch is usually cheaper than individual implants.
What are the best dental implants in Colombia?
There is no single "best" — look for a named, traceable implant brand, a dentist whose licence you can confirm on ReTHUS, a written treatment plan with every phase priced, and a clinic registered in REPS. We explain each check in our surgeon-verification guide.
What if something goes wrong after I fly home?
Get your full records, X-rays and the implant brand and lot details before you leave. The CDC notes that patients treated abroad may not have the same legal recourse as at home, so ask the clinic in writing what it covers if an implant fails and whether a US dentist can service the parts.
Do Colombian dentists speak English?
Clinics that market to US patients generally have English-speaking coordinators, and many dentists trained abroad. Confirm on a video call before you book — you should be able to discuss your plan directly with the dentist, not only a coordinator.
How do colombia dentist prices compare for crowns?
Clinic-published zirconia crowns run from $319 (Colombia Care Dental) to $620 (Dental Tourism Colombia, Medellín), against a US national average of $697–1,399.

References

  1. CareCredit. How much do dental implants cost? National average $2,143, implant only. Accessed September 22, 2026.
  2. Colombia Care Dental. Dental implants in Colombia. Accessed September 22, 2026.
  3. Dental Tourism Colombia. Medellín dentist price list. Accessed September 22, 2026.
  4. Cleveland Clinic. Dental implants: treatment details and recovery — osseointegration takes three to nine months.
  5. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. CDC Yellow Book 2026: Medical Tourism.
  6. Ministerio de Salud y Protección Social. Registro Único Nacional del Talento Humano en Salud (ReTHUS).
  7. CareCredit. All-on-4 dental implants cost. Accessed September 22, 2026.